|Name||Lang Pioneer Village Museum|
|Address||104 Lang Rd, Keene, ON K0L 2G0, Canada|
|Category||Sights / Landmarks / Museums|
Welcome to Lang Pioneer Village
Since 1967, it has been our mission to preserve and authentically recreate the history of Peterborough County. Each and every day we strive to provide visitors with an accurate and interactive view of the life of a 19th-century settler in rural Ontario.
Our costumed interpreters tell the pioneer story as they demonstrate traditional chores, trades and pastimes. Come see our blacksmith work a hunk of iron into an ornate fire stoker and enjoy the enticing aromas of traditional recipes baked over an open fire. Each day we bring history to life in an engaging way as we welcome you into our homes and businesses.
AboutLang Pioneer Village Museum
Lang Pioneer Village Museum was established by the County of Peterborough in 1967 to celebrate and preserve the rural history of the area. Each year, tens of thousands of visitors from around the world take a trip back in time to discover how the pioneers lived.
Nestled along the banks of the historic Indian River, Lang Pioneer Village Museum features over twenty-five restored and furnished buildings constructed between 1825 and 1899. Many of the buildings were donated by townships within the County of Peterborough and moved to their present site when the Museum was founded.
A photographer"s paradise, the Village is complete with lanes and pathways, farm animals, rail and stump fences, vegetable and herb gardens, as well as other authentic details of a 19th-century hamlet. Villagers of all ages, dressed in authentic historical costume, go about their daily chores contributing to the authenticity of this living history experience. Sparks fly from the anvil in the blacksmith shop, handbills are printed on the old press in the Register Print Shop and the gentle smell of wood smoke fills the air. Chat with the Village carpenter at his treadle lathe or the spinner at her wheel and visit the 14-room Keene Hotel for lemonade or afternoon tea. Step back in time and enjoy a day like no other!
S. W. Lowry Weaver Shop and Jacquard Loom Interpretive Centre
The newly built S. W. Lowry Weaver Shop and Jacquard Loom Interpretive Centre is home to two of only a handful of authentic Jacquard looms that can be viewed in North America. The Lowry Jacquard Loom at Lang Pioneer Village Museum was purchased by a young man named Samuel Lowry who was born in Warsaw, Ontario in 1862. He worked as a weaver in Warsaw from 1884 to 1888 then moved to Peterborough and established a business at 172 Hunter Street. His main products were carpets, flannel and horse blankets which were sold to clients from Lakefield to Hastings and Warkworth to Omemee.
104 Lang Road Keene K0L2G0