|Name||Campbell House Museum|
|Address||Campbell House Museum|
|Category||xxx DELETE xxx|
Campbell House is the oldest remaining house from the original site of the Town of York. Built in 1822 by Judge William Campbell and his wife Hannah, the home was designed for entertaining and comfort, and constructed at a time when the Campbells were socially and economically established and their children had grown to adulthood.
The house is one of the few surviving examples of Georgian architecture left in Toronto. Campbell House is constructed in a style in vogue during the late Georgian era known as Palladian architecture. This style was Italian in origin, and based upon elements of classical Greek and Roman architecture, which emphasized symmetry of features (windows, fireplaces, doors etc.) and grandiose proportions to exhibit wealth.
Campbell House is a fine example of Georgian architecture and was moved in 1972 to the present site. Beautifully restored to reflect the lifestyle of a judge who became Chief Justice of Upper Canada, the house provides a glimpse into the early life of the Town of York, now known as Toronto.
Campbell House Museum is located at the north west corner of Queen and University in the heart of downtown Toronto and is open for tours from February through December.
The only way to see the museum is by guided tour. On average, a tour of the museum takes 45 minutes.
While photography is allowed, we request that visitors do not use flash. Outside food and beverage are not permitted inside the museum.
Period herb garden in season. Special events, school and seasonal programming. Visa accepted for booked tours.
160 Queen Street West Toronto M5H3H3