|Name||Cabot Head lighthouse|
|Address||Owen Sound ON|
|Category||Sights / Landmarks / Museums|
Cabot Head, named in honor of noted explorer John Cabot, was a known obstacle for vessels traveling the eastern coast of the Bruce Peninsula to ports such as Owens Sound, Collingwood, and Midland, but partly due to its isolation, it didn't received a lighthouse until the late nineteenth century. A lighthouse had been constructed on Griffith Island off Colpoy's Bay in 1858, and Tobermory received a lighthouse in 1885, but the roughly sixty-mile-long sail between these points was unmarked...