NameKincardine lighthouse
AddressKincardine ON
CategorySights / Landmarks / Museums

James Bruce, eighth Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, was Governor-General of Canada from 1847 to 1854, and both Bruce County and the town of Kincardine are named in his honor. Kincardine was first known by the Indian name of Penetangore meaning 'the river with the sand on one side', but the use of Kincardine, which better suited the English tongue, gradually supplanted the original name...
Read more

Visitor Info
From Highway 21 in Kincardine, turn towards Lake Huron on Durham Street. After 1. 8 km (1. 1 miles), turn left on Huron Terrace, and the lighthouse will be on your right after two blocks. The six-room keeper's house attached to the tower is now home to the Kincardine Yacht Club's clubhouse and a marine museum, which is open to the public during the summer. The lighthouse is open from 11 a. m. to 5 p. m. , July 1st through Labour Day. The lighthouse is owned by the Town of Kincardine and managed by Kincardine Yacht Club. Grounds open, tower open in season.

Coordinates44.17710, -81.63821
Web address