NameMain Duck Island lighthouse
AddressKingston ON
CategorySights / Landmarks / Museums

The United States erected a lighthouse on Galloo Island in 1820, and in 1828 Canada began work on a lighthouse on False Duck Island, eighteen miles to the west, to help mariners navigate the eastern end of Lake Ontario, but it wasn't until 1914 that a lighthouse was established on Main Duck Island, midway between Galloo Island and False Duck Island. The Lake Carriers' Association proposed a light and fog signal on the western end of Main Duck Island in 1908, and the Lake Ontario Coal Carriers Association soon joined the cause...
Read more

Visitor Info
Main Duck Island Lighthouse is best seen by boat. The lighthouse is owned by the Canadian Coast Guard. Grounds open, tower closed.

Coordinates43.93114, -76.63844
Web address