|Name||McKay Island lighthouse|
|Address||Sault Ste. Marie ON|
|Category||Sights / Landmarks / Museums|
McKay Island Lighthouse is a familiar landmark in the Bruce Mines area and its history is a long and interesting one covering the details of its construction as well as individuals who both maintained the light and worked to preserve it for posterity. The first light at the Town of Bruce Mines, Ontario was established in 1902 in the form of a lantern placed atop a shed on the community's new 1,000-foot public wharf...