NameBurlington Canal Main lighthouse
AddressBurlington ON
CategorySights / Landmarks / Museums

A low-lying sandy barrier known as 'The Beach' separates spacious Burlington Bay from the western end of Lake Ontario. A natural channel previously connected the upper end of the bay with Lake Ontario, but as it was too shallow for navigation, James Crooks, a Hamilton merchant urged the House of Assembly in 1823 to authorize the construction of a canal to link Lake Ontario to Burlington Bay...
Read more

Visitor Info
From Highway 403 near Burlington, take QEW south towards Niagara Falls, and then take Exit 97 (for North Shore Boulevard toward Eastport Drive). Follow Eastport Drive as it winds under the QEW and crosses the lift bridge, and then turn right into the parking area near the southern end of the lift bridge. From the QEW south of Burlington, take Exit 93 and follow Eastport Drive north to the parking lot at the southern end of the lift bridge. A lens used in the lighthouse is at Joseph Brant Museum in Burlington, but it is not on display. The lighthouse is owned by the Canadian Coast Guard. Grounds open, tower closed.

Coordinates43.29848, -79.79522
Web address